White Bear House Family Retreat

White Bear House (House)
7 Bedroom(s) | 4 Bathroom(s) | Sleeps 19
Description Calendar Rates Location Reviews Contact

Description

Your reservation will include bed and bath linens, beds freshly made upon arrival and departure cleaning included. This great private home is perfect for a large family gathering or sharing with multiple families. Located on Ocean Boulevard, directly across the street from the beach. (Ocean Blvd. is a 2- lane beach road with a 25 MPH speed limit) WITH A BEAUTIFUL PRIVATE POOL!



Comfortable, beach-themed, very tastefully furnished home. Many new furnishings and bedding; Flat Screen TVs in all bedrooms.



DOWNSTAIRS: 3 BR / 2 BA: 1 Queen bed, 1 Queen + 1 Twin, 1 Queen + 1 Twin bed; Includes a fully-equipped kitchen with large Island and eat in breakfast bar, open living/dining area, with leather new sofa flat screen TV. Full Sized Washer & Dryer in the NEW Laundry Room (May 2017)



The 2nd floor opens to nice covered porch with partial views of the ocean, and easy beach access across the street.



UPSTAIRS: 4 BR / 2 BA: 1 King, 1 King, 2 Double and 1 Queen PLUS 1 twin bed. Nice large living room area with new sofa and large flat screen TV. Extra twin daybed creates seating or sleeping with access to the balcony. NEW breakfast bar with 4 stools for more seating. (May 2017)



Just a few blocks away (on US 17), you will find mini-golf, restaurants, bars, beach stores, Main Street with the pavilion and oceanfront rides.



This lovely home is located only 5 minutes North of Barefoot Landing. There are over 100 beach stores, specialty shops, restaurants and attractions here. With Great Pricing!! The children will love the White Tiger show, and walking over the floating bridges that connect the complex to kiddie rides and more attractions. The House of Blues offers great Summer concerts, as well as a delicious menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Alabama Theater is also part of Barefoot and has live theater, and celebrity concerts, nothing short of Broadway!



A little further South is Broadway at the Beach. This is a huge complex with Ripley's Aquarium, IMAX Theater, Zip Line rides, new in 2011 WonderWorks ( a hands on science museum), and many more attractions. There are restaurants and dance clubs, such as The Hard Rock Cafe, Planet Hollywood, Joe's Crab Shack, Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville and many more. Myrtle Waves Water Park, MagiQuest, Boardwalk Arcade, Fantasy Golf are such a few 'Places to Play' here at Broadway. There is truly something for everyone!

Calendar

September 2021
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
October 2021
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
November 2021
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
December 2021
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
January 2022
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
February 2022
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28          
March 2022
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
April 2022
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
May 2022
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
June 2022
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
July 2022
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
August 2022
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
    Available     Unavailable  Check-In Only  Check-Out Only

Seasonal Rates

Date Range Daily Weekly Monthly
* Seasonal rates are only estimates and do not reflect taxes or additional fees.

Location

Guest Reviews of White Bear House

North Myrtle Beach, SC

Vacation Rental Reviews by

White Bear House - Myrtle Beach, SC

         
Review by
Overall, Myrtle Beach has changed dramatically since our last visit, but this is of no fault to the property/property managers. However, upon our arrival, which was after the official check in time, I was told our property was ready and watched a gentleman "call" to verify. We were told to head to the house. When we got there, the cleaners were still there. I called back, spoke to a gentleman who put me on hold, then verified that the cleaners were "just finishing up" and gave permission to enter the house. We began unloading our vehicles, keep in mind that this house sleeps 16 people, and as we made our first trip into the house, we startled the cleaners, who acted as though they had no idea we were coming yet and said they needed another 1.5 hours in order to finish. We had to take all of our belongings back out of the house. I attempted to call back to the property management company, who let my call go to voicemail. It was close to 5pm by that point, so I did not want to call their after hours with this, but I left a message detailing the situation, and asking for a return call. No one ever called me back. I understand that many businesses are struggling with hiring staff and if they needed more time, I wish they would have just told me that up front, instead of lying to me, twice. I was not impressed.I would have given 1 star for the question regarding the property management company's professionalism, but my first phone call when booking was answered by a friendly, knowledgeable woman.
2 out of 5 stars

Nice house

         
Review by Laura L.
Although there were minor issues with the house (slow drain in upstairs BA, no garbage disposal) this was a very roomy, good house for our extended family. Great location. Ample parking. Overall very pleased!
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Hi, Laura. We thank you kindly for taking time to leave this review on your recent stay at our White Bear House. We are pleased to hear you and your guests enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the minor maintenance related issues you encountered. We hope that you will come back to visit with us again in the future. Take care!

Great Location needs a few updates!

         
Review by Wendy W.
Location was great! Wonderful having a private pool and ocean right across the street. Suggestion, A larger refrigerator downstairs, a larger grill they both were ok but for 19 people, who cooked everyday it was only ok. Bathroom fixtures especially the shower faucets need updating.
4 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Hi, Wendy. Thank you for writing this review as it helps us notify the property owners of what suggestions guests have provided to make the property better. We are glad you and your family had a great stay. Don't hesitate to reach out directly when you're ready to book your next beach vacation. Take care!

Great place!

         
Review by
Great place we had 16 people stay only thing that was a little bit of a negative was seating. Not much seating for as many people as we had staying . Other than they house was great! Clean upon arrival and no other issues!
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thanks so much for the great review. This traditional beach house is the perfect getaway for big family groups. The dining is set up mainly for grabbing a bite at the breakfast bar or gathering outside around the picnic tables/grill. Of course there are great porch rocking chairs to enjoy a bite or happy hour, too! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful beach experience and we hope you will be back. Thanks again.

whitebear

         
Review by Lori N.
All in all rental was nice. Biggest complaint no trash cans in bathrooms, pots and pans need to be replaced and kitchen lacked large bowls or anything for larger group. Light from windows was awful need curtains in bedrooms and ceiling fans in first level rooms. No vacuum to be found and only 1 small broom with dust pan which was definitely not enough to keep up with sand! Location was good! All in all we had a great time.
3 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thank you for the detailed review. The deficient items you mentioned are part of our required inventory but may go "missing" from time to time during the peak of summer visitors. We always provide 24/7 phone numbers and ask guest to let us know if there are issues during their stay, so that we might help you have the best vacation experience. For example, we can easily offer loaner items from our housekeeping stock when essential items are lacking. The curtain suggestions will be presented to the owner for future improvements. Glad to hear you had a great getaway, otherwise. Thanks again and we hope to hear you will be returning.

Perfect Vacation

         
Review by Jay and Theresa C.
This house is perfect for large groups. We had a family vacation and everything was perfect. We had one minor issue called the maintenance company and they had it correct within the hour. The pool was our perfect for the kids. Only wish they had a better grill, but we made it work
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review of this wonderful beach house. We are delighted to be a small part of your family's memories at the beach. The owner will be advised of your grill recommendation. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will return.

Multi-Family Vacation - Great Time!

         
Review by Henry D.
Decided to have a multi-family vacation to celebrate a retirement. 18 people consisting of 3 grandma's, 3 sisters, and 8 grandchildren. I was a little concerned seeing a recent review, but we were all exceedingly pleased with the house and our stay. The house was perfect for what we needed. When we arrived, it was clean and ready to go. Kids were in the pool within 30 min. The pool was just the right size for the 8(yes 8) kids. Not a huge pool, but it fit the bill. Having an outside shower was an added bonus. The beach was a directly across the street which made it super easy to get back and forth quickly. The house had plenty of pot and pans for cooking if you want to stay in to eat. When we made meals, we let the kids have the bar and the adults split up between outside and upstairs. The only thing missing was a gas grill. There was a charcoal grill, but having the ease of a gas grill would have been nice. The two giant tv's were a bit hit with the little ones. It was also nice that the kids and adults could each have a tv. Each bedroom has it's own tv as well so there's no shortage on tv's. The bedrooms were sufficient to hold everyone and there was ample storage in each room. One bonus was having 4 bathrooms with 18 people! One previous renter said the bathrooms were small, but I disagree. Could the bathrooms use an update, maybe, but we were not disappointed.If you are worried about having enough to do in close proximity, don't. You'll run out of time before you get to everything. We did mini-golf, driving range, boardwalk, and even took a trip to Charleston for the day,(which I highly recommend Partiot Point), and plenty of beach time!We only had to call the management company once as one of the kids upgraded the tv package by accident. They called the owner and resolved it quickly.Overall were we happy with the house....absolutely. We would highly recommend staying at White Bear House!
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thank you for this 5 star review. We appreciate the great details that you included for every future traveler. Your kind words will make all the difference for answering those important questions and give a genuine picture of this wonderful, old but remodeled, family beach house. We are happy to be a part of the great memories that you are taking home with you!!! Please call us again for the next family getaway!

Beautiful, clean and comfortable

         
Review by Lisa G.
Awesome vacation home! Has all you need and is close to everything. Property management group is wonderful and very easy to work with.
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
5 out of 5! Can't get better then that! Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review! We are so happy you had everything you needed and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Excellent!!!!

         
Review by
We had a wonderful time. Everything was clean and the pool was awesome. We had all the stuff we needed for a nice vacation.
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Your thoughtful review is very much appreciated. The owner of the White Bear House has done extensive remodeling to this beach bungalow classic and keeps it impeccably maintained throughout the season. The second floor porch offers wonderful sea breezes and the private pool makes a great splash with families. There is also a plenty of space for grilling and friendly game competition. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will spread the word about your great experience at this private beach home. The best advertising comes from happy travelers. Thank you!

August retreat

         
Review by Doug and Elaine F.
Very pleasant, convenient to area activities
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thank you for the PERFECT RATING! White Bear is a Gorgeous Beach House - with a PRIVATE POOL and plenty of space for a Great Family Gathering and Located on Ocean Boulevard, directly across the street from the beach. We thank you for staying with us at White Bear and we hope to see you again.

Vacation July 2017

         
Review by
It is a very nice house with a nice pool. My only complaints are that to get upstairs you have to go outside which makes it tough when a family is staying together. Also, one of the upstairs bedrooms had no bathroom except to go into another bedroom to get to it. This was hard because you may wake up or interrupt someone.
4 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey Terr and thank you for your comments. We will pass on your comments to the owner and I am sure that he will take them into consideration. I know that he did do some renovation in 2017 just before the season started so I am sure that he will continue to do improvements once the season quietens down for him. Again thank you for staying with us and we would really like to have you come and join us again. Sincerely, Your ODVR Team.

Family vacation

         
Review by Brian A.
This was our 3rd year in a row staying here! We love the house and the location! If you are looking for a place to stay with a big family this is your place! You won't be disappointed! Thank you again!!!
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
5 STARS!!! Thank you Brain, we are so happy to hear that it was another successful vacation at White Bear. This is truly an amazing property with everything you could need, from all the bedrooms to the private pool, what more could you need. We want to thank you again Brain and we hope to see your family again next year. Sincerely, Your ODVR Team

50th Wedding Anniversary celebration

         
Review by Pamela S.
We had a terrific time. 14 of 18 of our family made it. This is a great home away from home. Such a good location...I would reccommend it to my friends! Below are a few suggestions I sent to the owner. ODVRCeiling fans in all rooms up & down Upstairs small fridge (college size) would be very helpful Sink for "wet bar" would also be very helpful and actually make it a wet bar. More kitchen towels & dish cloths
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
Thank you for spending your special golden milestone with us, we were happy to have you. We are so glad that you enjoyed our "White Bear House" and we will be more than happy to pass along your suggestions to our owner. They have recently done upgrades to White Bear that made it even better, it is one house that has it all. From the private pool , deck area and right across from the ocean, what more could you ask for. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again next year.

Contact Us